Hierarchical Ticket Categorization

In the fast-paced world of support and change management, simplicity often holds the key to success. Enter the four-tier categorization system, a user-friendly framework that not only facilitates problem-solving but also enhances the way organizations handle change requests. Let’s explore how this uncomplicated model, organized by workspace, request type, category, and subcategory, brings clarity and efficiency to both support and change teams.

  1. Workspace

The first tier, workspace, acts as a foundation for precision. It enables teams to organize not only support issues but also change requests based on different workspaces, departments or even locations. This simple categorization ensures that each team can focus on the unique challenges within their area.

Examples: IT Helpdesk, IT Change Hub

  1. Request Type

The second tier, request type, facilitates the process by categorizing various types of requests under workspaces, including support issues and change requests. Be it a hardware glitch, an infrastructure adjustment, or server-related modifications, this tier offers a simple method to distinguish different task types.

Examples: IT Helpdesk /Hardware, IT Change Hub /Server and Infrastructure Changes

  1. Category

Categories represent a more detailed level of classification beneath Request Types. They allow for a more nuanced organization of tickets by grouping related issues or requests together.

Examples: IT Helpdesk /Hardware/ Screens, IT Change Hub /Server and Infrastructure Changes/ Server Upgrade

  1. Subcategory

Subcategories go even deeper, giving more specific details within each main category. They help pinpoint the exact issue with greater accuracy.

Examples: IT Helpdesk /Hardware/ Screens/ Power Cable Concerns, IT Change Hub /Server and Infrastructure Changes/ Server Upgrade/ Backup and Recovery

Comments are closed.